Episode: 3

Reflecting.

Cindy Sherman Expo.

I feel that I have learnt to see/understand more of the deeper meaning of some works. In the Cindy Sherman show I managed to get some of the underlying themes of her work better than normal. An example of this is seen in Episode: 2, Experiencing. Where i am able to connect deeper underlying themes to her work.

With art, I have always been quite choosy with what i want to look at and like. Typically I dont normally choose to view ‘Identity’ styled work pieces, due to personal reasons but from my field trip I understood the concept of it and saw the strength it had in Sherman’s work especially how for example it showed the strength of woman in some of her work yet in other the emptiness or clinginess have when all they have is wealth, trying to make themselves feel more powerful by the clothes they wear even thought it shows there fakeness.

CindySherman  moma_sherman2012_untitled465

Untitled works, Cindy Sherman, 2008, Larger-than-life Society Series. City Gallery Wellington

I did find it still challenging though as it isn’t my preferred type of work. I felt that it was hard to concentrate as well as I often don’t spend a lot of time on art form a single artist in galleries as I normally like to see a wide range and variety in the work I see.

A key part for me in the gallery was the clown series. Being completely honest, I have a hate for clowns, so going through her clown series was somewhat of a challenge for me especially when I’m trying to analysis the work without a bias view.

82743.CindySherman.jpg

Untitled #425, Cindy Sherman, 2004, Clown Series. City Gallery Wellington

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑