Coding for Creative Practice #2: Processing

Experiment 1: Highground

Testing out how to place objects in the ‘canvas’

High Ground Process

I just tried the classic stick figure shapes to give a go at the aligning and placing of lines in this application. (Scene my interpretation of the Star Wars HighGround)

Coding:

HighgroundCode1HighgroundCode2

Combination of lines and ellipse to create the stick figures. Use of the stroke weight and colour fill.

 

Experiment 2:  Random Dots

 

For this experiment I took the coding element of 3JS (the function setup and draw) from the tutorial in class and attempted to play around with the code. For this case I used a lot of circles which took the colour of its fill from the exact position from a pre-saved image of the mona Lisa. This meant that it would recreate the mona Lisa work of art but made from thousands of tiny circles. I made the circles ‘paint’ themselves on random x and y coordinates so it would paint the image randomly each time.

Coding:

RandomDotsCOde

In the code I used a for statement I saw on a tutorial this enabled the random positions of the circles ad there colours.
Source of tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NbX3RnlAyGU

 

Experiment 3: SNAKE

Found a tutorial of this on the internet and wanted to give it ago. Snake the game via processing.

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGW5ecDOjjk&t=261s

Coding:

 

I followed the code on the video as I wanted to give it ago, it worked but I did get confused with some the code.

Experiment 4: Motion graphic Circle.

In this experiment I used parametric equations. After watching a tutorial by alexander miller (https://youtu.be/LaarVR1AOvs) I tried this experiment myself. This is the result of it.

Coding:

SnapshotCircle

  • I created a circle drawn from circles with this equation.
  • With the translate function, i was able to centre my work in the middle of my canvas.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑