Coding For Creative Practice: Final 3JS

3JS Final: The process.

I used a couple of snippets from my previous experiment. I wanted to develop my double spheres more (http://threejsplaygnd.brangerbriz.net/s/?id=4549). I reminded me of planets so my attempt for my final was a space theme. After adding some Oscillation hue and particle snippets, this was the result i ended up with.

Space Spheres:
link : http://threejsplaygnd.brangerbriz.net/s/?id=4802

 

Code:
SSCoding1SSCoding2

  • Used ‘mesh’ and ‘meshh’ to differentiate between the two spheres. This enabled me to change the speed of the oscillation and rotation.

SSCoding3

  • Oscillation on all three elements (both spheres and particles.) all with differing variables so there wont be colours which class that easily.

Development:

I had achieved the space sorta look with my experiment but I felt like i could add more so I added a camera position snippet to try and see what i could do with it.

After playing around with the different elements of it for example changing the sin and cos elements, the values of the integers and the x, y or z movement of the camera. I kept just getting a bouncing like movement, back and forth of my canvas, almost like a constant loop of the shapes bouncing like a ball from birds eye view (with position z variable).

I tried changing the trigonometry variable (cos and sin) to a tan. This changed my camera movement all together, instead of bouncing, it zoomed out along the z axis of my canvas  until there was nothing and then it kept going till a zoomed in version of my canvas appeared again and so forth (see video for visual representation.) It looked like a black hole almost and with the never ending shapes coming and going (combined with the hue oscillation made it look different each time) almost like a paradox (hence the name).

This is the outcome of my final experiment:

Space Paradox:
Link: http://threejsplaygnd.brangerbriz.net/s/?id=4804

Code:

SPCoding1

SPCoding2

  • Used ‘mesh’ and ‘meshh’ to differentiate between the two spheres. This enabled me to change the speed of the oscillation and rotation.

SPCoding3

  • Different variables in rotation snippet.

SPCoding4

  • Difference in the osculation speed of the two spheres, enables to have 2 different colours going at the same time so they dont clash.
  • Camera position with the tan variable to give the ‘paradox’ camera position.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑