Web 3.1

This week we are starting to do some user journey testing for the persona. I started off with some paper testing. To see if my ideas for what I wanted to do with the persona would work. Some parts had success some parts didn’t.

Some of the feedback was:

  • To make the “contribute” button part of the main navigation instead of being categories within the category Opinion as a subcategory so its clearer where you are able to contribute as if you weren’t use to the site or didn’t go into the opinion category you wouldn’t see it.
  • When testing for barry, I incorporated both the narrator and the ability to change the text size on the sidebar together. Some feedback was that these features were hidden away as you had to go through a series of buttons to get to this feature.
  • I also tried to make it that you didn’t have to log in or sign up if you wanted to follow a category as you could just input your phone number or email for notifications which at first seemed like a good idea as I also had a save preference for later option but the response to it was that how would you have the ability to control this if it wasn’t linked to an account? Would it cost the newspaper or the user?

So there is some refinement/ development that need to be done with these.

This is the prototype of me testing the narrator element.

IMG_5921

Below is my sketch of what I wanted to make as a prototype for the narrator.

IMG_0562

Below is me trying to work out how I would order the navigation around the regional and national NZ new through post-it notes. I wanted it to be possible to go quite specific in which news you could get to but I had to find a balance and I didn’t want to have dropdown menus within dropdown menus as it gets too much.

IMG_9178

IMG_7013

After talking to Tristan about the narrator’s location we discussed that due to the narrator being hidden. By looking at sites like Spotify apple music etc and seeing what they did about the audio controls and take reference.

img_5971.jpg

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑