Week 4.2

Today I further refined my prototype.

Results:

I think it looks more like a website.
I know a couple of things I need to do is keep consistent with things like alignment and sizing etc. I have had a few problems with type in XD. I have installed a font I want to use but whenever  I load it up again it all reverted back to basic so at the moment I have about 2 typefaces randomly changing but I am planning on sorting that out.

 

From the Homepage, it goes through to the Airplane crash article based in the Asia Category.

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 11.30.21 AM

World News Page:

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 11.30.35 AM

This is the Asia News Page:

Screen Shot 2019-04-03 at 10.33.34 PM

Article Page:
This is the first article page I have done and I like how I have started. I do feel like the sizing and leading need to be changed in the future though.

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 11.31.01 AM

These pages are the New Zealand News Page and the Regional News Page.
I decided that in the previous iteration of the navigation that the regional breaking into North and south island was way too overly complicated so I changed it so that there was just a regional subcategory where you would choose out of an interactive list which region you were after.

A tension with this is that it regional when the persona wanted cities like Tauranga. My reason for keeping regions is because since they are from their said cities they would know which region they are in. It all so mean if this was an actual site the regional news wouldn’t be restricted to what I would have classed as “major cities”.

Screen Shot 2019-04-03 at 10.33.48 PM

Account Pages:

From here we start to go into the “log in / account pages”. My reasoning for adding these pages in is that I felt that in order to 1. contributing an article and 2. follow certain categories, that the best way was to ensure that the personalisation was easy to replicate over different times of visiting the website was through an account (so that if you log in on a new computer you would have to go and redo all your followings etc same if you got a deleted and redownloaded the news app, by logging in, its easily saved).

Login Page > Many ways of signing in as often people either want to make a new account or just link it to social media/google account (or vice versa).

My Account Page > Esstebaily the central point of the account pages, it enables you to do basic changes in preferences like having the Narrator on, language preferences and your ‘playlist’ for the narrator. I am still in consideration if I want to add the ability to have the website in another language but I’m not sure yet.

Contribution Page > Made it a proper page instead of an overlay so that it felt more professional and less like a social media update. I made it a button instead of in the navigation to keep consistency with the index page (home).

Saved Article > The reason I added this page was that when reviewing the Persona I realised that a couple of them could potentially want to save articles for later.

Following Page > I tried to make it that you could access everything at once so there wasn’t a lot of faffing about trying to locate the particular category or subcategory you wanted to follow.

 

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 11.32.17 AMScreen Shot 2019-03-24 at 11.32.23 AM

Video of the prototype:

 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑